

Rules, Honours and Awards Committee Report

February 2024

Chair: Dr David Drew

Members: Dr. Nicholas Cole, Dr. Albert Tan, Dr Chris Waalkens, Dr Tasha Mackie

The ANZAP Rules committee was originally established about five years ago to oversee updating of the ANZAP Rules (Constitution). This work was completed with the adoption of the updated Rules at the 2022 AGM.

As a result of careful review of the Rules we noticed that there was no award to honour ANZAP members who make a significant contribution to research, teaching, and community service.

The Committee therefore created a new award for outstanding services in the categories of academic and clinical excellence, teaching, research, national and international organisational service and public service. The official award is the 'ANZAP Order of Merit', but it will be known as 'The Don Haig Award' in honour of Dr Don Haig, the founding father and long serving servant of the Academy.

The inaugural recipient of the award was Prof Mark Bartold, and this was presented to him by Don Haig at our 2023 meeting in Melbourne during the Gala Dinner.

Nomination forms for future awards can be obtained on the Website or by contacting the secretariat.

Another task on the committee agenda is the creation of honour boards for the website as a permanent record of award recipients and historical office bearers of the Academy. Work on this project has now commenced.

The committee has met several times using Zoom over the past twelve months and will continue further meetings during 2024.

David Drew Chairman

ANZAP Rules, Honours and Awards Committee